Qualifications explained

Interpreters listed on this website are fully qualified and registered BSL/English Interpreters.  RSLI refers to a Registered Sign Language Interpreter – the register being held by the National Register of Communication Professionals working with Deaf and Deafblind People (NRCPD).

RSLIs all have Professional Indemnity insurance and carry yellow identification cards, with their unique ID number on, which verifies that they are fully qualified and have met the SignSafe standards.  RSLIs hold current, enhanced CRB certificates (to be replaced by DBS) and have agreed to abide by the Code of Conduct and Complaints procedure as set out by the NRCPD.  Once an interpreter has reached RSLI status, they have to undergo a set amount of professionally recognised Continuous Professional Development hours every year in order to remain on the Register and keep skills and knowledge up to date.

There are two NRCPD registration levels associated with Sign Language Interpreting in the UK:  RSLI and TSLI

NRCPD badge

RSLI (Registered Sign Language Interpreter)

  • Have achieved an NVQ Level 6 (or equivalent) in British Sign Language
  • Have achieved an NVQ Level 6 (or equivalent) or a post-graduate equivalent in Sign Language  Interpreting
  • Have been assessed and approved as SignSafe by an awarding body
  • Carry a YELLOW identification card

RSLIs can work in any domain, but are aware of levels of competency in subject-specific areas and will be clear if an assignment falls out of their remit.  This can be discussed at the time of booking.

Trainee interpreter badge

TSLI (Trainee Sign Language Interpreter)

  • TSLIs are student interpreters who are still in training with the aim being to meet the SignSafe standards in the future.
  • TSLIs are registered and carry a PURPLE identification card